A Box of Jewelry

I wrote this post on August 11, 2013 (or maybe August 18, 2013?).

We are moving, and because we are moving, we are also packing.  On the top shelf of my closet I have a lot of bags.  One of them contains jewelry.  I hardly ever wear jewelry, but people buy it for me anyways.  It’s one of those things – you don’t know what to buy a girl, buy her jewelry.  Doesn’t work with me.  And somehow, it doesn’t matter who the person is, or the fact that, if they would think, they would realize that it’s been years since they saw me wearing any jewelry (wedding ring and nursing bracelet excepted).

At any rate, Yitzchak was packing my shelves.  He brought me the bags, and when I got to the one with the jewelry, I said, “I wonder how much money I could get if I sold all this stuff.”  Yitzchak said, “I was wondering the same thing, but don’t sell it, it sounds really bad.”

No, I wouldn’t sell it, because a lot – or most – of what I have are gifts.  Just like I can’t give any of it to my sisters, because most of my jewelry were presents from family members, I can’t sell my jewelry, either.  Don’t get me wrong – I do have a few pieces with a lot of sentimental value, that I would never want to sell.  But most of what’s in the box, I don’t wear.  Or, I wore it in grade twelve and haven’t touched it since.  Or something like that.

I wonder if my jewelry is worth enough to cover a mortgage.  You think so?

Due to the high volume of spam, I am forced to enable comment moderation. Sorry about that!

