Just Be Straight

I’m taking a break from my Israel-Hamas posts, even though I have a lot more to say about the subject, because, as surprising as it may sound, there are other things that bother me, too.

One of these other things is people who aren’t straight with me.  Warning: Rant.

If you don’t like the way I do something, tell me.  If you don’t tell the truth, yes, I will know; especially if there are four unrelated incidents that disprove to me what you have said.  And don’t blackmail me; if you offer me a deal that is less than 50% of what I’ve had until now, is equally against the law as what you wanted to do in the first place (what I’ve had is legal, what he could do is legal, what he was trying to do instead is illegal), and is totally illogical, I will not take it.  It’s blackmail, illogical, and illegal.  And no, in offering me this deal you have not gone ‘above and beyond the call of duty’.  You are simply blackmailing.  Which is to be expected, because you’ve proven yourself to be a dishonest person.  But it’s still blackmail and still illegal.  And I don’t play these games.

If you can’t afford something, say so.  Don’t leave me in suspense and driving myself crazy for two and a half months while I try to make it work, until I find out that you can’t afford it . . . and then say that it’s not that you couldn’t afford it, it’s that *my* schedule was inflexible and you weren’t willing to go into debt for someone as inflexible and ungrateful as me.  Please, just be straight.  You can’t afford to borrow that much money.  Neither can I.  And that’s that.  Even if all the other relevant wrinkles were ironed out – and not all were, we just haven’t told you about the rest, because it’s private – the issue of financing it remains, and will remain, and therefore our schedule is irrelevant.  But thanks for blaming us.  Also, don’t do things ‘to make it easier for us’ when it’s really, ‘to accomplish what you wanted, even if it is nearly impossible for us’.  And especially, don’t blame us for your failed manipulation.  I don’t play these games.  It was always, is always, and will always be, my fault.  I know that.  There’s nothing I can do except do the best I can.

If you have something to ask, ask it yourself.  If someone else asks it in your name, but I never hear a word about the topic from you, it doesn’t count.

I don’t mention details that aren’t relevant to the conversation.  And I don’t mention details that the other side will not listen to, and will twist and use against me in the future. 

Luckily, the person who I am more annoyed at, and who broke the law, does not read English well, nor does he know I have a blog.  Even if he were to find out, though, I don’t think it could hurt me at this point.  And the other person – what can you do – maybe they’ll read it, maybe not, maybe they’ll be told, maybe not.

When I was in high school, I was at an extracurricular activity when suddenly a friend who was a year or two younger than me asked if I have a blog.  I said yes, and she named my blog and asked if that was it.  I don’t remember how she’d known.  But apparently, it got around.  On the other hand, I was much more personal on that blog than I am on this.  What can you say – people grow up, and the internet becomes more and more of a safe-looking, unsafe, place. 

Which is probably why I haven’t posted anything about this topic until now.

2 thoughts on “Just Be Straight

Due to the high volume of spam, I am forced to enable comment moderation. Sorry about that!

