The Online Literature Course

top, highlearn, online learning, matach, literature course, online course israel,, haifa, bgu, teachers courses, literature courses

Translation: “The virtual campus for teachers.” This is the picture on the site’s homepage.

That, obviously, I have to do.

It works like this: Starting from next year, you will not be allowed to teach literature unless you have taken this course.  And they will not be teaching this course anymore.  Bear in mind that they have been saying this for quite a few years.  I, in all innocence, thought that this time, they really meant it – in the past, they said, “Starting in a few years;” now, they said, “Starting next year.”  When I told Yitzchak, he asked what would happen to the brand-new teachers.  At first I didn’t understand, because I took a similar course in college (from a top professor, too).  Then he explained himself and I thought, “Hm, good point.  I should ask the counselor.”  So I asked and she said that she doesn’t know and they haven’t figured it out yet, and that they go through this every year.  Israel.  I don’t understand why it can’t just be a required course in colleges.  I guess I won’t understand – because this is Israel.

Well, luckily, the course for my area is online.  Why luckily?

First of all, it saves the time and money that I would have spent on travel.

Second of all, it means I can do it at my pace (fast) and not sit there bored waiting for everyone else to get it.

Third, and most obvious – I can do it whenever I want.

The downside?  I can do it whenever I want.

But it sure is a better package than a face to face course.  And, there really isn’t another option, thank G-d.  For each area there is either one or the other.  Thank G-d that this is what I have.  I’m done being bored in class, I had enough of that a long time ago.

However, there are a few problems with this course.

1) The sessions usually start on Mondays.  This is great – I can do the work Monday night and have Tuesday free to do other things.  Problem is, the session usually only opens late at night (session 6 opened at 11:30pm; session 7 opened 1:14am), so although I can access it on Tuesday, it doesn’t really open on Monday and I get frustrated.

2) The instructor has not checked my – or most other people’s – work since session 2 or 3.  Needless to say, it’s kind of frustrating.

3) The one session so far (6) that I actually needed was lacking.  The instructor said that this session (7) should fill in the gaps, but it doesn’t – it talks about a related topic but not the one I need, nor about the differences between them.  Topics that I already know were overdone.  And this specific topic, that I wanted to clarify, is way underdone.

4) Half of the reflections for the sessions aren’t sent with the rest of the session.  The first time this happened, I emailed and asked for the link.  She sent it pretty much right away.  The second time, it took a week (until the next session opened) to even receive an answer, and the answer was that the instructor had simply not put it together yet.  She would do so in the morning.  Well, it’s still not done.  And I’m really annoyed.  (I want to check it off my list already!)

5) The course uses mhtml.  It opens only in Chrome.  It is slow, inconvenient, and honestly, I don’t see why it can’t be more user-friendly.

Other than that, it’s a pretty good deal.  I paid 30 shekels ($9) for the course, because it is subsidized.  It probably gives me a slight raise in salary.  And it gives me a lot more confidence teaching literature . . . even if most of the material is stuff I already know.

2 thoughts on “The Online Literature Course

    • I have my degree, but they changed the matriculation requirements a few years ago and therefore require all literature teachers (or those who want to teach it in the future) to take this course if they want to continue teaching literature.

      Like

Due to the high volume of spam, I am forced to enable comment moderation. Sorry about that!

