My Cell Phone – Again

1a. My cell phone broke again and I am unwilling to spend money on fixing or replacing it.  Bad phone, bad plan, too expensive.  We are looking to change plans, BUT our current plans came with phones and we are still paying them off (that is part of the plan, so that they get your money regularly for 3 years).  2 of the 3 phones we are paying for are almost done being paid off and broke a long time ago.  The third is Yitzchak’s phone, which also came with a new plan that we will probably have to pay some kind of fine to be rid of.  Just paying off the phones will cost about 900 shekels ($260, but over here it’s a lot of money), not to mention the other expenses.

broken phone, phone broke, touch phone, cell phone, phone1b.These other expenses are:

– At least one new phone, because the plan we had is a “kosher” plan that is locked to any other type of sim card (and it is legally locked and cannot be undone); preferably 2 phones because the only non-kosher phone we have is my brother-in-law’s and we don’t feel comfortable using it for a long time.

– Two one-time forty-five shekel fees to send the new sim cards for the new plan.

– A fine because we are breaking Yitzchak’s plan early (before the 18 month minimum).  It is a relatively small fine, but it’s still there and I don’t know how much it will be.

1c. In the end, this WILL save us money, though, because right now we are paying about 200 shekels and maybe more for a phone that doesn’t work and another phone with unlimited minutes.  And I hate that.  Our new plan will be with phones that we buy cheaper from a store and pay for upfront, along with two plans that are 10 shekels each.  Obviously, 10 shekels a month ($3) isn’t going to be a perfect plan but it’s cheap, reliable, and gives us what we need, even if we have to start using our home phone more (which is healthier, anyways).  The plan gives each of us unlimited texts but only 60 minutes talk time before it starts charging by minute.  But seriously – who cares?  That’s what a land line is for.  And since we are anti-social and usually talk only to each other, we can do that with texts, too.

So that’s the cell phone story.  Obviously, dumping a thousand shekels is a big deal.  This whole thing is a headache and a half but we will get through it.

1d. Not everyone knows that my phone is broken – I told my sister three weeks ago.  I told work.  I told a few friends that I ended up calling for some reason or other.  When I get my new phone I will text important people with my number and that will be that.

On the other hand, if Yitzchak gets his way and we do get him the unlimited plan (which I am against because I don’t like plans that go up after a year), then I’d like to nix the home phone.  But if we’re not nixing it, then we are fixing the jack in the living room, because the room that the phone is in is very inconvenient – and we don’t want the phone in our bedroom.  Been there, done that – and no.

So, that is the story of our phones.  Hopefully we will have a new, nicer, story soon.

2. Speaking of phones, Jajah is closing down in two days and both Yitzchak and I are kind of bummed.  Not that we used it so much anymore, or that they had suuuch a great price, but still.  They were good, and they’re closing, and it’s sad.  Bye, Jajah.  We will miss you.

family fighting, fights, family feud, arguments, family, families, fights, disagreements, frustration, anger, resentment

This is probably how some people in my family will feel after reading this admission.

3a. For goodness’ sake, I don’t know why I am posting this.  I have family who reads this blog and they don’t have our landline number, and we tell them that there is no option for them to call a landline.  Because, let’s face it – it is NOT an option. We have had enough calls from outside Israel at midnight or 1am, or even 5:30-6:00 am that it just isn’t something that we want to have happen.  (And it DOES NOT matter if we are awake or not at this hour; if we are awake then we are either busy, cranky, or both; if we are not then it is just plain rude to wake us up early.) No offense, but as a general rule a lot of times people forget to calculate the time difference, or just don’t calculate correctly.  I don’t have energy for that.  There is no reason that one of us should need to get out of bed in the middle of the night so that the phone will stop ringing and not wake everyone else up.

3b. And turning off the landline’s ringer isn’t an option – we always forget to turn it back on, until someone – or one of us – calls and says that they tried calling the house and there was no answer – and then the person at home realizes that the phone never rang . . . because the ringer was off.  The ringer can be off for a few days straight before we notice.  So, we just don’t turn it off anymore (and neither does Shlomo, because the switch doesn’t do anything obvious, so why move it?).  Also, we don’t have caller ID on our landline, and if there’s going to be an emotionally taxing conversation, I need the choice to refuse the call, or at the very least, five seconds to brace myself before answering the phone.  So no, it is not an option.  Sorry to all the hopeful and slightly hurt.  I hope you understand.  When we feel up to dealing with the consequences of giving out our home number, we will give it out.  Until then, we will do what is best for us.  There is always email, Skype, and loads of other options for anyone who wants to reach us.

And my apologies to the non-family readers who had to read part 3.  I will try not to subject you to this again, honest.  (I don’t do it often, do I?)

Due to the high volume of spam, I am forced to enable comment moderation. Sorry about that!

