Phones – And More Phones

cell phone, phone, cell phone technician, phone technician, phone fixes, cell phone fixes, bluetooth, nokia bluetooth, samsung phones, israel phones. israel phone technicians, smartphones, iphones, broken smartphone, broken cell phone, broken iphone, smart phone repairsLast week my cell phone broke.  (Yes, while my internet and house phone weren’t working.  Lucky us, right?)  Luckily, Jack (Yitzchak’s brother), who was staying with us, had one that he was not using.  We took our pay-as-you-go sim card and put it into Jack’s phone.  For convenience reasons, I took my sim and put it in Yitzchak’s phone, and he took the pay-as-you-go.

My phone broke last Thursday.

Thursday, Yitzchak says that he’ll take the phone to his friend, who took a course in fixing phones.

Friday is not a viable option, since it is only half a workday, so the phone has to wait for Sunday.

Sunday, Yitzchak forgets the phone.  I run an errand with Jack, and bring Yitzchak my phone.

Sunday, the friend who fixes phones isn’t there.

Sunday night, the phone is sitting in its usual place, where it is likely to be forgotten.  I get upset;  Yitzchak puts it in his backpack.

Monday, the friend still isn’t there.

Tuesday, the friend is there.  Yitzchak asks him if he can fix my phone.  He says he’ll take a look and see what he can do.

Tuesday night, I am nervous, because it wasn’t a promise, and it wasn’t fixed by the end of the day.

Wednesday, the friend isn’t there again.  I get more nervous.

Wednesday night, Yitzchak brings up the fact that we’ll have to pay this friend.  (I thought it was a favor, but Yitzchak takes business ethics to an extreme.  I should’ve known.)  I think: Wait, Jack gave us a brand-new bluetooth for his old phone, and said we could do what we wanted with it.  Maybe your friend can sell it, and give us a discount?

Thursday (today), the friend is there.  Yitzchak says his friend fixed the phone, “and fixed more than just what we asked for,” and that his friend said it would be forty shekels.  I was expecting 250.  40?  Wow.

He also said that he brought the bluetooth (wow, impressive) to his friend, and his friend said that he wanted it for himself.  Turns out, this friend ordered a bluetooth of the same kind a while ago, and it cost him $40 (not forty shekels, which is what he asked from us – forty dollars.  Or approximately 150 shekels, if he bought one here).  Friend was thrilled with the Bluetooth and was very happy to accept it instead of payment.  I don’t even feel bad, because what we gave him, even though worthless to us, cost more than what he had asked us to pay him.  And when Yitzchak got home, he said that his friend seemed to have thought that he was doing it as a favor, for free – and was kind of startled when Yitzchak asked what we should pay.

In the end, G-d takes care of us.  And I guess that’s the lesson.

Or, that’s the lesson – and the other lesson is that I only need a cellphone when I leave the house.

(BTW: The picture in this post is the same picture that Friend uses in his ads.  And I got this picture off the internet, from an unrelated site.  Ain’t that funny?)

One thought on “Phones – And More Phones

  1. Pingback: Phone Post – Again | Little Duckies

Due to the high volume of spam, I am forced to enable comment moderation. Sorry about that!

