Phone Lines and Internet

telephones, old phone, phone, phone with cord, telephone with cord, black phone, desk phone, office telephone

Our phone line and DSL have been iffy these past few weeks.  Most of the time, they worked.  But the internet would stop working randomly, and the phone line had a lot of static on it (and sometimes it wouldn’t work, either).

Two nights ago, it went completely dead.  No phone, no internet, not even static.  (The problems actually goes back to when we moved into this apartment, but that’s a long story.) Yesterday, I went to a pay phone (didn’t want to spend money calling from a cell phone) and called the company.  I didn’t feel like waiting in the cold, so I punched in my number and they called me back.  I missed it.  They left a message, and I punched in the numbers that they asked for.  They called me back an hour later.  Yitzchak answered.  They said they’d be coming between 14:30 and 16:30 today to fix it.

They came at 9:30 in the morning. (Impressive, no?  I was really grateful.)  It took a long time, but the technician fixed the problem, except for the static.  He said he couldn’t fix the static, because it was raining and he couldn’t open the boxes.  He told me that next week, the phone company will talk to the people in charge of the phones here, and they will work it out.  No actions were needed on my part.

Well, the internet works.  And the static on the phone is much less.

BUT, I called Yitzchak from our home phone, and he asked where I was calling from.  Huh?  He said it’s not showing up as the house number.  We both hung up, and I called our house phone.  Nope, no ring.  I used the house phone to call my cell phone.  It shows up as a different number, probably that of the pay phone I used yesterday (I’m guessing).

I called the phone company.  There were 70(!) people ahead of me, and it would take 50(!) minutes.  So, I punched in my cell phone number so that they’ll call me back.  The company still thinks (or at least, the automated service does) that there will be a technician coming between 14:30 and 16:30 this afternoon.  I hope they’re right.  It would be really nice to have our phone number back . . .

So, our phone and internet work, but with a different phone number.  Great.  Just great.

I wonder when this phone trouble saga is supposed to end . . .

Note: We like the phone company.  They have given us, thank G-d, pretty good service, and they are reasonable people.  In addition, the other phone companies all use regular electricity, whereas Bezeq doesn’t.  Which means that in power failure, our phone still works.  Very useful, and sometimes very important, too, especially considering that cell phones need to be charged.

I am not complaining about the company.  I am complaining about the problems here, which I think are related to this specific location.  When we move, I hope that these problems will be solved.  And, please G-d, we will not have other problems in their place.

Due to the high volume of spam, I am forced to enable comment moderation. Sorry about that!

